Charles Munch / Boston Symphony Orchestra

Brahms: Symphonies Nos.1 & 2

Buy from Amazon

SKU: ICAD 5029 Categories: , Tag:


Munch gave extensive performances of Brahms’ symphonies 1 and 2 during his time at the Boston Symphony, particularly during the orchestra’s many national and international tours. His readings of both works exhibit his characteristic energy and enthusiasm, which, coupled with the BSO’s distinctive sound, makes for a captivating DVD.

The ICA Classics Legacy series represents an historic account of performances by some of the world’s greatest artists. This DVD features some of the earliest televised concerts with the Boston Symphony Orchestra and their Music Director, Charles Munch.  

While the material has been restored using the greatest care and state-of-the-art techniques, certain visual artefacts and distortions remain in some instances due to the age of the film. Despite this, it remains of exceptional musical interest and historic value and is released here for the first time on DVD.

Additional information

Weight 1 kg