Charles Munch / Boston Symphony Orchestra

Wagner: orchestral excerpts from Die Meistersinger (8 March1960, Sanders Theatre, Harvard University)

Fauré: Pelléas et Mélisande suite (7 April 1959, Sanders Theatre, Harvard University)

Franck: Symphony in D minor (14 March 1961, Sanders Theatre, Harvard University)

Buy from Amazon

SKU: ICAD 5015 Categories: , Tag:


All three works featured on this DVD are well suited to Munch and his Alsatian heritage. He received prolonged and enthusiastic applause from the Boston audience following the performance of the Franck Symphony, whilst the Fauré shows him as a true master of French music.

The ICA Classics Legacy series represents an historic account of performances by some of the world’s greatest artists. This DVD features some of the earliest televised concerts with the Boston Symphony Orchestra and their Music Director, Charles Munch.

While the material has been restored using the greatest care and state-of-the-art techniques, certain visual artefacts and distortions remain in some instances due to the age of the film. Despite this, it remains of exceptional musical interest and historic value and is released here for the first time on DVD.

Additional information

Weight 1 kg