Masterworks: Strauss and Mahler (5 DVDs)

R. STRAUSS Till Eulenspiegel • Ein Heldenleben
Bonus introductions and educational guides
Michael Tilson Thomas
ICAD 5031 (2DVDs)

MAHLER Symphony No.6
Hartmut Haenchen
ICAD 5018

MAHLER Das Lied von der Erde
SCHUMANN Symphony No.4
Kurt Sanderling
ICAD 5042

MAHLER Symphony No.1
MAHLER Symphony No.5 – Adagietto (Bonus)
R. STRAUSS Till Eulenspiegel
Erich Leinsdorf
ICAD 5051

Buy from Amazon


Two late-romantic giants, Richard Strauss and Gustav Mahler, are showcased in this valuable 5-DVD box set of live recordings. Erich Leinsdorf offers a deeply personal account of Mahler’s First Symphony, while Kurt Sanderling’s interpretation of Das Lied von der Erde is inherently musical. Michael Tilson Thomas leads exciting performances of Strauss’s Till Eulenspiegel and Ein Heldenleben, and Hartmut Haenchen gives an outstanding reading of Mahler’s Sixth Symphony from his cycle with the La Monnaie Symphony Orchestra.

Additional information

Weight 1 kg