Garrick Ohlsson

Brahms: Piano Concerto No.2 in B flat major
BBC Symphony Orchestra / James Loughran, conductor (6 August 1978, Royal Albert Hall)

Chopin: Scherzo No.1 in B minor & Polonaise in A flat
Liszt: Funerailles (23 June 1974)

Buy from Amazon

SKU: ICAD 5013 Categories: , Tag: Brand:


The winner of the 1970 Chopin Piano Competition, and one of the leading exponents of Chopin’s works, Ohlsson displays brilliance and depth of feeling in this recital performance, filmed only four years after he won first prize. He demonstrates both subtlety and warmth of sound in his performance of the Brahms Concerto, where his technical mastery is also evident. This DVD features exhilarating and spontaneous interpretations from a true master of the piano.

The ICA Classics Legacy series presents a collection of historic performances by some of the world’s greatest artists. These performances are released on DVD for the first time, incorporating rare archive footage that has been expertly and lovingly restored.

Additional information

Weight 1 kg